Anyone who is convicted of Driving While Impaired (DWI) in the state of North Carolina is required to submit to a clinical assessment for substance use disorders. After this assessment, the state will then require you to complete certain educational or treatment programs as a condition of your probation.
Below, we discuss some of the classes and treatment programs available and what steps you’ll need to take to comply with North Carolina’s DWI laws.
What DWI Classes and Programs Are Available?
The initial court-mandated assessment is designed to find the best educational or treatment program for each participant’s needs. The ultimate recommendations will be based on that individual’s driving record, biological risk factors, substance use diagnosis, and a variety of other factors.
Alcohol and Drug Education Traffic School (ADETS)
Generally, for first-time offenders with a lower blood alcohol concentration (0.14 BAC or lower), North Carolina requires completion of the ADETS program. Participants must begin attending ADETS classes within six months of their assessment or a new assessment will be required.
ADETS uses the Prime For Life® curriculum—an intervention program specifically designed for individuals making high-risk choices. It’s intended to change drinking and drug use behaviors, even for those who may not have a substance use disorder, by considering the following:
- Risk perceptions
- Knowledge of how to reduce the risk of alcohol- and drug-related problems
ADETS is a 16-hour program generally provided over a four- to five-day period, and the course is offered virtually. Those who successfully complete ADETS will be eligible to have their driving privileges restored.
DWI/Court Services Forms
- DWI Release
- General Release
- Out-of-State Transfer Packet
- SEPT 2022 – 20hr schedule
- SEPT 2022 -16hr ADETS schedule
Short-Term Outpatient Treatment Programs
STTOP 20 (short-term treatment program) is intended for those with mild to moderate substance use issues. This level of treatment will be recommended if the assessment reveals any of the following factors:
- A BAC of 0.15 or higher
- Refusal to take a chemical test (breathalyzer) at the time of arrest
- Biological risk factors for substance use
- Any other problems that may have contributed to the DWI behavior—grief, loss, depression, or other untreated mental health issues
This program ranges from 20 to 39 hours of programming and generally meets twice per week. For your convenience, STTOP20 is also offered virtually.
STTOP 40 is a longer treatment program recommended for clients who meet the criteria for drug or alcohol dependence. Dependence occurs when a person moves from the casual abuse or misuse of a substance to the physical need or reliance on the substance for daily function.
This program consists of a minimum of 40 hours of treatment over 60 days involving group and individual counseling. It is usually recommended when the driver shows signs of drug and/or alcohol dependence. At Anuvia, our short-term treatment programs offer both morning and evening hours to better fit your schedule.
Depending on your assessment, you may be advised to participate in longer-term treatment. Intensive outpatient treatment may be recommended for those whose assessment reveals a diagnosable substance use disorder or dependence. Generally, IOP is designed for clients who have severe substance use disorders but who don’t require an inpatient level of care.
Residential (Inpatient) Treatment Program
If the DWI assessment reveals that the person has already pursued other treatment avenues and they haven’t been successful, or if the person is at risk of dangerous withdrawal from opioids, alcohol, or other substances, the court may refer the client to inpatient treatment at a substance use facility.
Anuvia offers both intensive outpatient and residential treatment programs.
What If You Don’t Live in North Carolina?
If you’ve been arrested or convicted of a DWI in North Carolina but live in another state, or if you were convicted in another state but now need to apply for a North Carolina driver’s license, Anuvia’s Court Services Team can help restore your driving privileges.
Start the process by completing the Out-of-State Transfer Packet, which will allow us to begin our case-management services.
We have decades of experience in helping our patients retrieve records from (and provide them to) other states, provide proof of completion of DWI programs, and take any other steps necessary to put your driver’s license back in good standing.
For more information on the programs and services Anuvia offers, simply give us a call at (704) 927-8840. From ADETS to residential treatment programs, we’ve helped thousands overcome substance use, and we can help you too.